Principals

Sir John Templeton, Chairman

John M. Templeton, Jr., M.D., President

Mrs. Barbara Small, Executive Director

2003 Judges

Francis Cardinal Arinze

Ramanath Cowski, Ph.D.

Bruno Guiderdoni, Ph.D.

Sir Brian Heap, CBE

Sir John Houghton

Max Jammer, Ph.D.

Monshu Koshin Ohtani

The Viscountess Brentford, OBE

Metropolitan John Zizioulas

Templeton Prize Laureates

- 2003 Prof. Holmes Rolston, III, philosopher, Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
- 2002 The Rev. Dr. John C. Polkinghorne, scientist and theologian, Cambridge, England
- 2001 The Rev. Canon Dr. Arthur Peacocke, scientist and theologian, Oxford, England
- 2000 Prof. Freeman Dyson, scientist, Princeton, New Jersey, USA
- 1999 Prof. Ian Barbour, scientist and theologian, Northfield, Minnesota, USA
- 1998 Sir Sigmund Sternberg, businessman, London, England
- 1997 **Sri Pandurang Shastri Athavale,** founder of the Swadhyaya movement, Bombay, India
- 1996 Dr. William R. Bright, evangelist, Orlando, Florida, USA
- 1995 Prof. Paul Davies, scientist, Adelaide, Australia
- 1994 Michael Novak, philosopher and theologian, Washington, DC, USA
- 1993 Charles W. Colson, founder of Prison Fellowship, Washington, DC, USA
- 1992 The Rev. Dr. Kyung-Chik Han, Presbyterian pastor, Seoul, Korea
- 1991 **The Rt. Hon. The Lord Jakobovits,** former Chief Rabbi of Great Britain and the Commonwealth
- 1990 Awarded jointly to: Baba Amte, of the Anandwan community, India, and Prof. Charles Birch, biologist, Sydney, Australia
- 1989 Awarded jointly to: The Very Rev. The Lord MacLeod, of the Iona Community, Scotland, and Prof. Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker, physicist, Starnberg, Germany
- 1988 Dr. Inamullah Khan, former Secretary-General, World Muslim Congress, Karachi, Pakistan
- 1987 The Rev. Prof. Stanley L. Jaki, OSB, Professor of Astrophysics at Seton Hall University, USA
- 1986 The Rev. Dr. James I. McCord, former Chancellor of the Center of Theological Inquiry, Princeton, USA
- 1985 Sir Alister Hardy, founder of the Sir Alister Hardy Research Centre at Oxford, England
- 1984 The Rev. Michael Bourdeaux, founder of Keston College, England
- 1983 Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, author, Russia
- 1982 The Rev. Dr. Billy Graham, founder of the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association, USA
- 1981 Dame Cicely Saunders, founder of the modern hospice movement, England
- 1980 **Prof. Ralph Wendell Burhoe,** founder and former editor of the journal Zygon, Chicago, USA
- 1979 The Rev. Nikkyo Niwano, founder of Rissho Kosei-Kai and World Conference on Religion and Peace, Japan
- 1978 The Very Rev. Prof. Thomas F. Torrance, former Moderator of the Church of Scotland
- 1977 Chiara Lubich, founder of the Focolare Movement, Italy
- 1976 H.E. Leon Joseph Cardinal Suenens, former Archbishop of Malines-Brussels
- 1975 Sir Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, former President of India and Oxford Professor of Eastern Religions and Ethics
- 1974 Brother Roger, founder and Prior of the Taizé Community in France
- 1973 Mother Teresa of Calcutta, founder of the Missionaries of Charity

The Templeton Prize

Canyon Institute for Advanced Studies 3300 West Camelback Road Phoenix, Arizona 85017 USA Tel 602.589.2541 Fax 602.589.2897

info@templetonprize.org www.templetonprize.org